Herding Cats by Christopher JF Gibson (Book Review)


I recently finished Herding Cats by Christopher JF Gibson and I loved it. A collection of short stories that either contain or come from the perspective of our feline friends, deftly written and full of depth and emotion.

To be honest I wasn’t sure what to expect, but these stories are lovely. Some sweet, some sad, but all of them are definitely written from the heart. Mr. Gibson shares his intimate moments with us. These are beautifully written tales and I found myself looking forward to the next tale when the previous had ended.  I loved that some of the stories were from the perspective of the cat and some from the human.

The story based on the title is about an older cat, with two siblings, who are much younger and make his life quite difficult, but as we read, we realize this “wise-old cat” may not be so wise or so old, engaging in his own “tom-foolery”. It is beautifully written and intriguing.  The Missing Cat was a wonderful story of loss and love, the ending took me completely by surprise.

I haven’t read “animal” tales since I was a little girl, my mom had me reading Albert Payson Terhune (on of her faves – which also became mine), but these aren’t just for children. They are about what we all think about and dream about, just from a different perspective. If you are looking for a series of engaging tales full of emotion and depth, look no further. Herding Cats is simply lovely.

Leave a Reply

