The 2nd novel… OOOOO SCARY!!!


Well, yeah, it is.  It took me over 7 years to write my first novel, from idea to published product.  I took the advice of learned writers before me and I tossed several incarnations of the book.  The first was in the wrong place, the second was full of the wrong kind of dialogue, the third, I kept writing chapters that ended no where, but in the end, I had the book I wanted.  I love my book.  I love everything about it.  It’s a little bit of everything.  Fantasy, adventure, romance, thriller, horror… it covers them all.

Some people criticize the number of characters, but I think they are all needed.  I’ve had a lot of positive feedback and reviews, and some negative.  I have some of my fans who are screaming for the 2nd installment.  Thus the title of this post… the dreaded 2nd novel.  I always thought it might be somewhat difficult, but I had no idea the kind of pressure we put on ourselves as writers when it comes to a second book.  It’s not that I don’t want to return to Lia Fail and my beloved characters, I do.  I know where they are and what they’re doing for the most part (they will really get talking soon ; ), nor is it getting lost in their stories.  It’s not the hours of solitude (I actually love that part).  It’s the readers… the ones who loved my book.

The scary part is in the potential to disappoint them.  Something that scares the hell out of me.  I know I have two choices.  I can stop writing altogether (sucky option) or I can just man up and get it done.  Well, not writing anymore isn’t going to happen.  It’s part of me and who I am, like breathing.  I have to do it.  So I guess, I just need to man up.

It’s not like I’m out of ideas, those keep coming, actually piling up in my head.  Actually, I should get them out, right?  Ok, time to be a grown-up and sit down and start increasing that word count.  Kind of like here.   Ok, so maybe it’s not that scary.  Maybe I’m being a big baby.  I guess there’s only one way to find out… jumping off again!!!  Oh, My Lovelies, be kind!!! ; )

5 thoughts on “The 2nd novel… OOOOO SCARY!!!

  1. That’s right my friend…put on your big girl panties and get to getting…
    You will never disappoint your audience if you are happy with the product you put out.
    Love Ya

  2. Thank you! I need more books in my life. You my friend can NOT sop writing. We would all be so sad. Plus Nemo wants to hear another radio show. You don’t want to let down the youth! 🙂 Oh yeah I used my kid. You have fans who love your work. Write for us! Please!
    kisses

  3. The Gathering: Booke 1 of the Lia Fail Chronicles, awesome read!!!! Apocalypse; awesome read!!! can’t wait to read MORE from you!!!!! 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

