The Journey Begins…


So now it begins… the first step into a new world. Here I am beginning the journey into the world of following my dreams. I’ve written a book and published it myself, I’m learning to play golf, I’ve purchased a guitar… not true, I have 3 (classical, acoustic and electric) now to learn to play them.  Well, I can play a little, but I want to play them.  Drag my fingers across the strings and here those sweet notes reverberate against the instrument, making the sounds I hear on the radio or on my IPod.  I’m on the road to getting healthy, working out and dropping all this excess baggage we call fat. That one is the hardest. Harder than writing, harder than learning something new. Why? Probably because it’s just that… hard.

It’s hard to move and hard to get motivated and hard to work through the pain… and I know, it’s worth it. I know this, but sometimes it’s just hard. My dad has always said there is no magic potion, no pill, just hard work, so do it.  And I do it… day after day, when I miss a day, I get back on the horse and I keep going.  But its still hard.  Like doing the things we know need to get done, but it will suck to do. Saying the things that need to be said, but you really don’t want to. So I try to be brave… but it’s hard.

But the things that are the hardest are the most rewarding, I know this too. So in short, here I am at the precipice of my life, looking into a deep ravine of the unknown, but rather than be frightened as I once was, I’m curious.  What’s down there? What’s waiting for me? So I ready myself and I jump… and I fall into whatever to waiting for me. Just like a giant amusement park ride like Tower of Terror, I plunge into the unknown… the only difference it there isn’t a ride operator to bring us back and let me off. This is life and it just keeps going.

Exciting isn’t it?

5 thoughts on “The Journey Begins…

  1. You have such a wonderful gift of expressing yourself Shan. Keep up the good, no, GREAT work! I mean it…all of it.
    Love, Gayleen

Leave a Reply

